Your personal weather limit

Attempted to practice crosswind Landings at LaGuardia on the expert server with the 789, winds picked up to 33 gusting 42, direct cross landing 22.

I didn’t land succesfully. I am still learning this aircraft and it is difficult.

My question is, what is your personal limit that you feel comfortable with landing in regarding crosswind or turbulance weather on Infinite Flight?

3 Likes

If it’s 35, with a sustain winds of 40 that’s a no go for me, rather be safe then sorry. Now if it’s right down the runway of off by 10 degrees then I’ll attempt it but have enough fuel for an alternate.

Now turbulence if it’s moderate that’s fine by me, severe I would probably try go around it but I’ll fly through it.

2 Likes

For me, turbulence is more of an issue than wind. For example, you could have a 110kt crosswind at cruise with next to no turbulence. Or, you could have a 60kt crosswind with extreme turbulence. Obviously the 789 should be able to cope with stronger winds than an A320 for example.

So yeah around like 100kts generally becomes too extreme for cruise.
Probs over 35-40 crosswind at landing, as that’s generally the cutoff for a lot of aircraft.

A

1 Like

Hmnmm it seems the limit for the 789 is 33 knots for landing in a crosswind, each aircraft is different, that seems lower then others, I wonder if it has to do with the material used to make it.

1 Like

Well for me I look at what the limit is for the aircraft and the airport. I went to go and speak with a EasyJet Switzerland pilot yesterday and we looked at some charts of airports. One airport had a limit of 10 knots tailwind.

1 Like

That is a ‘demonstrated’ crosswind which effectively means it’s the maximum crosswind the Boeing pilots could find during crosswind certification.

The actual crosswind limits are often set by the company depending upon experience and runway conditions up to a maximum. Generally we operate up to 40kts sustained crosswind.