Yoshi_flyer's ATC Tracking Thread - [CLOSED] @N/A - Practical Passed!

Hello!

Welcome to my ATC tracking thread! I am thinking about applying for IFATC, so I would appreciate if you could come by. Your feedback and tips are greatly appreciated as I am still learning. Thanks!

I will announce where I am open in the thread.

1 Like

I am currently open at KSMF

Thanks for coming by!

Hey Yoshi! I was BABYBUS. Decent job at KSMF today. Here are some comments.

• One: this is a minor thing, but it’s something I do every time I go into a new ATC thread for the first time. When I request a change to tower’s frequency, it’s a redundant action. The taxi instructions gave me permission to contact tower, so you should just tell me that I was already instructed to change frequency.
  • Two: good job on the clear for takeoff w/traffic direction, as well as the first cleared for the option.
  • Three: when an aircraft calls inbound, you must give them pattern instructions if there’s no Approach frequency on guard. For United 352, you cleared them directly, which isn’t proper procedure. You’ll only clear aircraft directly if they call inbound on the ILS/GPS and Approach is on guard.
  • Four: when I requested a change to 16L, you needed to give me a pattern instruction (and sequence if needed). Any runway change requires a pattern instruction. After that, you must also tell them to make left or right traffic when clearing them for the option on a new runway. After the first clearance, you won’t need the left/right traffic part.
  • Five: Having N143747 extend downwind wasn’t needed. They were a small plane and can turn base early; furthermore, extending their downwind only put them closer with the United 352 aircraft, and you would want your small planes far away from jets because the small planes are slower.
  • Six: good job on the transition, many people miss that!