Why are there speed limits?

I’ve been using an app called ‘planes live’ for about 2 years, haven’t used it l8ley, was thinking about it after I got violations for speeding.
Idk, the limits IF has in place may have some basis n real life aviation, but since I’ve been using ‘planes live’ I’ve noticed
The speed limits n IF are irrelevant. For example, most planes climbing out of 2-3k are already at 250kts or more.
By the time they’ve hit 10 k they’re usually approaching 400kts or more.
By 30k, they’re reaching cruising alt, and are at speed of 500-620kts.
I’d really like to know why we’re limited to such slow speeds for such high powered jets.

2 Likes

That’s because it’s ground speed. When at over 30000 ft in IF (try yourself) you might be 330 Airspeed but you are usually over 400 Ground speed.
And then there are winds.

8 Likes

Those r the correct images…sorry.

Lol…hold on.

Lol…sorry, the images at the bottom, or respond to the images at the top.

Correspond

MPH=/= knots. While the A380 is doing 272 knots under 10,000, the plane is probably doing 250 KIAS, which is bang on the limit.

The 777 is fast because it’s at 29,000 feet, there are no speed restrictions there. There are only restrictions under 10,000.

7 Likes

Yep - 315 mph is 273 knots. With a bit of wind, that’s easily right at or under the 250 KIAS limit.

3 Likes

But I hear you about the speed limit violations, they’re the easiest violations to run into. Best is to stay far enough away from them, so for example I try to taxi at 15-20 knots, and during climb you keep a constant 190-200 knots until like 3000 feet - adjust your climb rate if you’re getting too fast! - then slowly get faster up to 250 knots as you near 10000.

One more tip for the typical airliners is to keep your throttle at like 70-75% while climbing, which is usually more than enough to climb at that speed. You’re virtually never going to need to go above 85% throttle, not even during takeoff.