When do I reduce power for landing?

I’ve been flying quite a lot the A320 family, and before landing I reduce the throttle a bit at 100ft so as to be able to reduce the possibilities of having a balloon effect.
Is this the way its done in real life? If not, how do I land like if it was a real life landing?

4 Likes

I really cut my throttle once I cross the piano keys or go below 30 feet. Then, I set my spoilers to flight real quick, then to armed.

3 Likes

Calm down, I’m not an expert when dealing with the balloon effect.

2 Likes

This post was flagged by the community and is temporarily hidden.

4 Likes

3 Likes

No, what I’ve asked you is the flare altitude, this time is the way to avoid the balloon effect on landing.

1 Like

Please don’t be harsh.

The OP has a genuine question. Even if you have explained it in the past, he may not have fully understood and is entitled to get another response.

Please cut the memory insults, the “get rekt”, etc. I’ll be suspending people who make such posts in this style after this warning.

This forum is a great place for learning, not a place for insulting other users.

32 Likes

Hey buddy, from personal experience, I’ve found 135-150knots optimal landing speeds. I’ve found through experimentation that the plane will fall significantly if you drop the plane to idle, so I’d recommend at about 400ft you gently work the throttle keeping a consistent speed, then around 100ft you can start reducing power slowly and prepare to flare. 30-20ft suits me most for flaring. As it minimises your time creating lift.

4 Likes

Here’s my trick!for the a320 family…i use approach until 400feet then go in manually… In most cases the 50 callout sounds…i slowly idle and flare to about four degrees from one/two degree of the approach