What to do when flying over an active airport?

Hi Community!

So, I’ve just flown EGCC to EDDL, and my FPL took me directly over EHAM (Amsterdam) which at the time, had active ATC (TWR and GRD). My cruise is at FL330, so I know I can’t request a transition. So, I monitor TWR frequency instead. I then get asked for my intentions when directly over the airport. I obviously can’t just say, hey yeah I’m just monitoring, so I ask for a transition just so the controller knows that I’m just flying over, as there is no other way to ask. I then get instructed to check the community for tutorials.

What should I have done in this situation because, it can be a little fustrating when the “check tutorials” message pops up. I’ve been flying on IF since 2015!

Thanks and stay safe!
Samuel R

2 Likes

Hey,

If you cruise over an airport, you don’t need to do anything. On the Expert Server, we’ll never ask for your intentions at such a height. On the Training Server, things are different. Controllers are learning the ropes and may give you some confusing instructions.

At cruise, you do not need to monitor any frequency. This may be why you were told to check the help pages, but you should contact the controller in question if in doubt. At such a height, you should not contact any active frequency.

You only need to request transition if you’re flying below 5,000ft AGL. You should also only contact a Radar frequency (Approach/Departure) if at 18,000ft AGL or below.

Thanks,
Patrick

7 Likes

If that has been on Expert: Your best bet would be to PM the controller on what would have been the best way to deal with the situation.

Also it’s great that you took time to actually ask on the IFC, which is really good!

2 Likes

For reference, I was on expert. I just thought it would be good pratice to monitor incase of traffic etc, but then that could be avoided.

Hey,

You may wish to monitor but, as I said in my previous post;