What’s the point of the request button?

Honestly what is the point of the request button if it never gets granted. The runways available in the ATIS so I set up my flight plan to that runway. Now I have to change the flight plan. 😐 I’m no expert aviator, am I doing something wrong?

1 Like

As IFATC, I can tell you we try to send planes to the closest runway, at least I do. If you request a different runway included in the ATIS dep. runways, we give it unless there’s a lot of traffic or another thing preventing it. You always have to be prepared for another runway you weren’t expecting.

6 Likes

I understand when the airport is busy, but there were only 4 planes. I just don’t like redoing the flight plan.

If you use an SID, it should take less than a minute knowing that you can remove the previous SID and move waypoints through the FPL

3 Likes

Still frustrating… I as a fellow IFATC can say that some should really look up the airport they’re opening before they do so. Most controllers in Munich have both runways open despite only the northern runway being operational irl atm. This isn’t the issue, but it’s so frustrating if you try to be realistic at your home airport and the ATC sends you to the closer runway despite there not being any traffic and it not being the realistic one…

2 Likes

It is a bit frustrating if it’s empty. If the airports busy I understand the controllers are busy so I hardly request a runway. I don’t want to bash the controllers I’m thankful that they’re providing atc services but if it is empty can we just get our request granted.

1 Like

You also have to think about the winds etc, a controller might find another runway more suitable for what direction you are taking off, so would put you to the runway.

I would’ve had headwind if I had taken off 28L and it would’ve been a left turn south. If there’s faster ways to replacing flight plans I’ll take advice.