What is a transition?

I’ve been looking on the forum for a good explanation as to what a transition is. Looking at n here I can only find topics such as ‘when is the right time to ask for a transition’ or sometimes topics will start talking about airspace. Surprisingly, I never asked for a transition and I’ve been playing IF for just about 3 years now and it’s always just something I’ve ignored. If anyone could give a good, understandable explanation then I would be grateful.

Thanks, Jacob

5 Likes

All you need to know is here :)

5 Likes

It’s when you fly over the tower airspace before coming in to land I believe.

3 Likes

I think a transition altitude is the altitude you can fly over an airport without interfering with its airspace (pattern traffic mostly)

3 Likes

I have read through that topic but I still don’t know what one is.

3 Likes

A transition is when you fly over an airport within the tower controllers frequency. This frequency reaches 5nm around the airport and 5000ft above it. This means if you intend to fly through this airspace, you should request a transition!

10 Likes

It is often used if flying a G/A aircraft low to the ground (within 5000 ft) and one flies directly over an airport!

2 Likes

A transition is issued at an altitude that ensures separation with other aircraft, particularly pattern work, and is not always at 3000 ft… The transition level is calculated as follows. Airport elevation + 1500 for jet pattern altitude + 1000 for separation and then all rounded up to nearest 500 feet (unless with 100 feet rounding down). In other words it is airport elevation + 2500ft. rounded up to the closest 500 ft (unless within 100 ft rounding down).

When flying just remember that if you are going to fly over an airport within it’s 5nm radius and less then 5000ft AAGL (actual above ground level) above it, request a transition!

6 Likes