What do you tell ATC

I want to go the de-icing pad by the remote gates, but what do i tell them

Do I tell them to pushback, then taxi to parking?

im not spawning there by the way

Yes! I would suggest letting the controller know so you can avoid confusion :)

1 Like

I’ve pm’ed him, going to wait for a response

Controllers are supposed to control. So it’d be pretty unlikely to get a response, depending on the workload. Requesting taxi to parking would be best in this situation.

1 Like

Do this and if they give u a rwy just send one more time if that doesn’t work well wait for the PM

1 Like

This’ll do. People will request taxi to parking all the time if they want to change gates, or, like you said, head to a de-icing pad or remote stand. Just state your intentions as best as you can, and then when you’re done, continue along with your day by requesting a taxi/pushback to the runway.

3 Likes

I’m no expert 🤷🏽‍♂️ But I would give u a pushback with no RWY selection then, tell you to taxi to parking once you request it…I would assume the aircraft is being moved for positioning, maintenance etc…but hey what do I know 🤦🏾‍♂️

2 Likes

Normally I wouldn’t send a runway selection regardless. I would only send a specific runway if traffic was picking up on one runway, but the other runway is empty. If you pushback and request a taxi to parking, most controllers will know what to do.

1 Like

Not everyone thinks through things like u do

1 Like

they are usually reasons why u cant spawn there. You could try using a small plane, select the place u want, than change to the plane u want, than start the flight

1 Like

i honestly see no point in this. itll just annoy the atc

1 Like

Well, the thing is that people like to keep it realistic, and so it makes sense with certain airports like Denver, due to the consistent temperature drop and snow coming in this month. Otherwise it could be stuff like realistic towing for space or to another gate, or realistic emergencies.