Weird Approach Strategies at OMDB

I’ve seen this when I’m watching aircraft inbound from OMDB on FR24. Every aircraft does some fancy approach when arriving at the airport. Here’s a few examples:

Anyone have any ideas as to why they do it this way?

I’m not an expert, but maybe traffic concerns?

They do this due to the high traffic if I’m not mistaken. When I approached dubai,the plane i was in was exactly vectored like the bottom photo. I Also think it’s to space the aircraft out evenly

1 Like

That first one is so cool! When i used fpltoif.com to make my flight plan to fly to OMDB, I was confused as it looked like it was trying to double pattern me, when in reality it was actually simulating the real life approach!

6 Likes

Yeah the top picture is so that they can get some spacing in between aircraft. You will actually see IFATC use this strategy a lot to give more space for depatures and more space between aircraft arriving. You will see it at almost all airport that are busy

The bottom one is an aircraft arriving from the Northwest is easier and faster to just bring over the airport at like 7,000 or 8,000 feet and then have them turn in to intercept.

4 Likes

A lot of European airport STAR plates have published “S” approaches. They’re a lot of fun to do. :)

4 Likes

The 2nd picture is also a common approach for flights arriving for the Northeast, West, and North at SFO… Most of the time, the planes will stop at 10,800 ft. and cross the airport before decreasing altitude again and turning. That might be how it works at OMDB too, it is just an approach path used for traffic probably

Screenshot_20181229-230058_Drive

this is the chart for the first picture and i have used this approach many times in IF

3 Likes

We use that in Infinite Flight a lot. :)

2 Likes

Yes, I am flying that when I approach Dubai in IF.