Unable to Access Any Live Servers Despite Being Logged In

I have a Live subscription, have logged in via Facebook, and see my name as logged in on the upper right in IF, but have very rare success at getting on the Free Flight Server (the only one I’m currently qualified to fly on). But I can’t get any more XP or flight hours unless I can successfully spawn into a live environment and get credited for the flights I take. I have only managed to successfully spawn into an airport in Live about half a dozen times – I was able to use the Unicom and see other pilots, etc. But recently, no matter what I do (restart the device, log out of IF and back in, restart the sim, pray), I can’t seem to get it to work. The headphones are always dimmed and I can’t see any other planes. is there something I’m missing? The server load is never more than about 20-21% according to the status when I check, so it seems like capacity is not the problem. I’d really like to be able to get credit so I can use more airports and gain enough XP to try a an ATC flight, but am stuck at 1,500 XP and low hours despite flying for much longer.

Thanks,

iPad 2 // IF 15.10.0.1092 // iOS 9

Could be your internet connection.

If the Wifi symbol in the top right corner is yellow-orange or red, you will not see anyone. Try again on a different device, the iPad 2 is pretty old.