Trying to understand Infinite Flight more

Hello everyone,
I have been on Infinite Flight for a year. I am a grade 2 pilot and I am trying to prepare myself for the formality and professionality of grade 3 (if I make it there). I was interested in understanding how to do a good takeoff and landing as I am not very confident in them and I often rely on A/P and APPR too often.

Also, A quick question, as someone who is starting to use Infinite flight as more than a hobby, what are flares in regards to landing and other terms?

Flaring is when you pitch your nose up to get that sweet, sweet butter…
Seriously it’s when you pitch your nose up do decrease your vertical speed like just before you touchdown.

In regards to actually flying, just practice practice practice. Go on TS, CS or even solo and practice. The key is smoothness, like I’m real life. I still haven’t gotten takeoffs it landings down yet.

Flaring is slightly pulling the yoke back at around 20 ft AGL (above ground level) so that you land on your main gear (ones at the middle of the plane). Slowly bring the throttle back and land, and then gently push your nose gear down.

As for your other questions, if you can be a bit more specific, I’d love to help!

That’s funny. For me I always accidentally slam my nose gear down one landed. I need to work on that…

thankyou for your help, I really appreciate it.

1 Like

Thank you so much, in terms of flying, I am currently flying to Singapore from Sydney at Fl38, what are some good tips for descending?

thankyou again

FL38 is 3800 ft, maybe a bit low? Unless you mean FL380, or 38000?

As for descent, I tend to use a formula that I’ve concocted myself, although it’s a bit complicated to explain here.

For now, check out real world pilot Wiggy’s thread about it: Standard Descent and Descent Planning

As for speed, I slow down slowly while using this chart:
At 28000 -> 275 kts or below
At 20000 -> 255 kts or below
At 15000 -> 240 kts or below