TRIPREPORT! PHX-SJC-OGG! Southwest Airlines 737 MAX 8

hi guys!

it’s that time of egg again.

When all you can tripreport is think about, come here.

Yesterday (for me). Now 2 days ago for everyone else. I flew to Hawaii. This is my first time ever coming here so I was a bit nervous. Ok I’ll start now

Anyway, we wake up at a bright and early 6am which the sun has already risen to load up our bags and just take ages to get ready and we’re leaving the house by 7am for our 9:40am flight. We wanted to go super early in case of long lines. Anyways we arrive at the Parking Spot 1 to park our car for 9 days which was cheaper than parking it at the airport and we catch a shuttle to the airport.

We were checking a total of 5 bags which every passenger is allowed 2 free checked bags so there was no worry there. Also the lines were very short. Unlike the American counter which was already stretching close to the outside doors. Classic American just having all their flights leave at the same time.

Anyway, we check our bags and are off to the gate, security had almost no one in it so that was a breeze and we were soon at our gate 1:30 before boarding. We departed outta gate D2. The “D” concourse is the nicest SWA concourse offering floor to ceiling windows which you could watch the departures from. My brother and I did about an hour of planepsotting and then ate some breakfast.

Today’s aircraft was a 2 year old 737 MAX 8 which would take us to SJC and then onto OGG. It was soon time to board and we were at the end of the “A” boarding group. We boarded and I settled into a good wing view seat.

We soon pushed and started our long trek to our departure runway 7L. We turned onto the runway and made a quiet takeoff to the East and made a big right hand 180 to head west and then up the coast to SJC.