Tips on landing without APPR?

I feel like as a beginner i have to learn how to land without APPR at some point, because 747, a380, etc are still there waiting to be flown, I’m just worried that I will crash at the end after a long flight with those long haul planes, what should my approaching alt, vs, spd be?

1 Like

i always try to line up the plane with the FPV and after that i activate HDG and VS

Start of by using partial A/P (A/P for throttle and V/S and do the rest yourself) and gradually stop using it

2 Likes

Try practicing with the Appr mode on solo. Then, engage APPR until maybe 100 AGL, where you can disconnect it and try landing. Just get the feel for it, watch the tutorials, and read the user guide. You can also use APPR mode but untick heading and speed so that only your V Speed is controlled by the autopilot. Gradually work your way up to manual landings.

1 Like

Is it possible to imitate appr with the a380 and 747 and all the other planes without it? Like land with autopilot?

My autopilot just disables by itself sometimes when i enter the glidslope

Read through the user guide. You have to tune to the ILS with you Nav 1 and then switch to Nav 1 from GPS when intercepting the localizer and glide slope.

maybe use the “landing aid” the description of it says “shows a set of rectangles around the landing path, helps make stabilized landings” and that shows up at around 1100 feet agl. it should help you. you can find it in settings

YES, that is enabled, but i without appr i either miss it or I just struggle to stay in it

What should the VS be if i reach those rectangles? I’ll try to land with autopilot b4 moving to completely manual.

What’s your sensitivity setting at?

There is a sensitivity setting for IF?

I think watching the tutorials and reading the user guide will be your best bet. :)

Watched them all, I’m just trying to see if there are any better ideas from the community :)

maybe re-calibrate before disengaging the autopilot.

1 Like