Tips for beginner pilot in infinite flight

Hello, I just started flying on infinite flight yesterday. I have no experience flying irl so I am not sure how I would go about dealing with stall and what causes it, I am also not sure on how to go about taking off without stalling as it is an issue that happens quite a lot for me, I don’t know what’s the cruising altitude as well. Any advice for a newbie like me would be helpful. Thanks and have a good 2021

13 Likes

The #ground-school category has all you need to improve your skills. They should be of great use 🙂

3 Likes

Thanks, you too!

Very good tip :)

7 Likes

Landing is the most difficult part, so use solo to practice it (would use “approach” not “short final”)

3 Likes

Welcome to the community!

A good place to start would be all the ground school tutorials in #ground-school - and also the flight training tutorials on YouTube right here

A stall is caused by the wing exceeding its critical angle of attack - that’s the angle between the relative wind (i.e. where you’re going…usually forward) versus where the wing is pointed. This disrupts the airflow over the wing, and it ceases to produce lift. In practice, you can think of it as the airplane losing forward airspeed, so it “falls” out of the sky like a stone. This usually happens if you point the nose up too steeply on takeoff.

A good way to counter this, is to gently tilt your device to raise the nose slowly on takeoff to about 10-20 degrees - not all of a sudden - and keep it there on the climb-out. Monitor your speed, and if you see your speed falling, gently pitch down just a little (but not so much as to descend). A good takeoff should see your airspeed increase slowly, little by little, on the climb-out.

Also don’t forget to retract the landing gear (if your aircraft has it) after takeoff, once you’ve established a climb.