The new “hotfix”

Hello community!
I’ve recently just tried to do a flight after the hotfix, and it’s still incredibly laggy. I couldn’t even finish a flight plan before the the app quit. I have my settings at the normal level for what I normally use, and the amount of aircraft is at its normal rate. I have an IPad Air 2, which is a high end device, and the tablet cannot eve handle it. I’m quite disappointed. I understand there is a magnitude of players on right now, and that contributes to lag, but this still should not be happening. I’m not a developer so I don’t know how it works, but I think that if you are going to sell something to the public (especially when you have a loyal fan base like IF does) it needs to be the best work. And most importantly work. Just my 2 cents, and I was wondering if anyone knows how to fix this?

The iPad air was a high end device when it released in 2014… however not so much now. One of the most effective fixes to lag currently is to turn your aircraft count down to either low or none, that should hopefully reduce the amount of lag you are experiencing.

From the official support FAQ, this is worth a read. Unfortunately as a device gets older and the app requirements get higher, some devices are going to struggle. For being 6 years old, the Air 2 is doing quite well, but you’re going to have to reduce the quality down slightly and have reasonable expectations.

5 Likes

iPad Air 2 is no longer a high end device. A high end device now would likely be the latest generation of the iPad or the latest generation of the iPad Pro series. Try lowering your graphical settings especially the aircraft count as that has been the issue for multiple people.

The iPad Air 2 is currently a better device then the latest released regular iPad. The only thing with higher graphics is the iPad Pro. Please do your research :)