The Airshow Moment of a Lifetime

In the months leading up to Thunder Over Dover 2019, I made this video of myself flying the demo using the mobile flight/combat sim Carrier Landing HD (Best Raptor model and flight physics ever. Awesome graphics too. Sadly it’s iOS only for now) and backing it up with narration, A.K.A my self-taught voice acting.

In the video’s development, I was rather lazy at one point, so I decided to story it, and tag the F-22 Raptor Demonstration Team’s instagram. This managed to catch the eye of Lt. Sam Eckholm. He sent back to me, saying he was looking forward to its completion. If you know me, I’m quite obsessed with 5th Generation Fighters, so naturally, I became committed to getting it done. Within the next couple days, I finished it. Sent the link to Sam, and I somehow impressed not only him, but then-Major Paul “Loco” Lopez. The team’s pilot and commanding officer. Sam later told me he wanted me to hang around at the booth. That led to an Airshow I’d never forget.

So it was Show Day. Saturday on the 14th of September. I was attending the show with my father and another friend of mine, Jeremy, who also happened to be a huge fan of the F-22, and flew virtual demos as well. Upon seeing the Demo Team’s booth, I immediately made that my viewing point. And right between a large pickup and the booth, was Maj. Lopez himself talking to Airshow fans. He was quite busy with them, so I just stood by, anxiously waiting for the opportunity to speak. But in the meantime, he did offer me stickers, which I replied with thanks.

Then, a gap between fans opened up, and I mentioned to him:

“You know that flight sim video with the Raptor? That was me.”