Thanking ATC after your takeoff. What’s your opinion?

Dear IFATC and Expert Server community,

Among myself, I notice other pilots telling the tower “thank you, good day” after they have taken off. I do it all the time if there is active IFATC.

I wanted to know what the controllers think of this. Are you guys fine with it? In my opinion, I just do it because I think IFATC do an amazing job, especially on FNF!

I’d very much like to hear from IFATC and other Expert server pilots. What do you think of this?

Cheers everyone!

9 Likes

I normally thank the controllers after taking off, though the exception is if they are overloaded with traffic (like a really busy FNF)

1 Like

Hey there, as ATC and a pilot i normally say thank you in reply to change frequency then just off the bat after TO

2 Likes

I sometimes thank the controllers, but most of the time they are busy.

2 Likes

As a pilot, I usually say it after a given a frequency change approved command (after reading-back the command of course XD) just to say “thanks for your service” kind of thing. I try to check before doing this to see how busy the controller is, as I would prefer to not ‘clog’ up the frequency.

3 Likes

To answer your question: As an IFATC, I’m definitely fine with it. Sometimes I answer back with a “thank you good day” or “your welcome”. Always nice to see some pilots who appreciate the work and effort.

It’s not that often I notice a “thank” message from a pilot as I don’t always read the ATC responses.

8 Likes

They do not receive a blinking yellow warning like other commands for “thank you, good day”. A member of IFATC will have to confirm, but as far as I know, it doesn’t hinder their progress if you send this during times of busy traffic.

11 Likes

Welp, looks like my question has been answered! I mean… your ATC services are excellent and even the training server ATC have zilch qualities compared to you guys, so I guess I really appreciate it!

4 Likes