Strange noise

When you are on a plane and while you push back from the gate there is a loud squeaking sound. It kinda sounds like you are putting rivets on a car. Anyone know what that sound is?

im no expert but that could be the tires your hearing

I think it’s the hydraulic system getting all ready for the flight. Or is it the push back tug?

Are you talking ab out Airbus aircraft? Because I know what you are talking about but have only ever heard it on airbus aircraft.

If your talking about airbus, it’s the hydrolics getting ready. It sounds like a rivet gun.

3 Likes

Yeah, it’s like rubber tyres squeaking into place

It happens on the A320, It´s called the PTU (Power Transfer Unit).

5 Likes

Yeah that’s it. It sounds like a dog barking!

1 Like

The only squeaking-ish sound I hear is the flaps.

May not be familiar with this one because I haven’t been on aircraft for more than a year.

2 Likes

Listen to this. Skip to 1:20 for the sounds. The video description says what is happening.

It sounds very weird closeup!

And totally different on a Q400

3 Likes

http://www.askthepilot.com/questionanswers/the-barking-dog-airbus-noises/

2 Likes

Oh yeah! Now I remember!

It’s a very weird sound for what is related to the engines!

It may be the Hydraulics as other people said. Which may be why they test the spoilers and rudder when still at the gate.