Steps to take in high school to become a commercial pilot?

I am a freshman in high school hoping to pursue a career in flight, Are there any certain classes and steps I can take to start when i’m out of high school? I am planning to go to either a flight school like Purdue or the Air Force Academy.

7 Likes

Hi @baileygrafmiller, welcome to the IFC! I hope your time with us is enjoyable for you.
As for your question, there are lots of things you can do! I’m in a similar boat, and have been looking into this a lot lately. I am fortunate enough to have a high school program that goes in-hand with IB, which is an NJROTC Aviation program, which offers some minor industry certifications (I think you get your unmanned aircraft license, as well as ground certifications???). For you, I don’t know where you attend, so I don’t know if there is something you can do now.
I’d probably say that while you’re in high school, try and take higher classes, and try and study in areas that you need to major in to become a pilot (it’s stuff like mathematics, physics, and aeronautics) for when you are in college. Beyond that, if you can manage to land a scholarship at a college, that leaves a lot more financial freedom for you to work with (I think that where I live, the total cost of getting all the necessary licenses and certifications is around $150K).

I’m sure that you’ve probably heard at least some of this stuff before, but it’s most of what I can think of off the top of my head. If I can think of something else, I’ll be sure to mention it here. Hope this helps you in your endeavors!

Waxy

2 Likes

There are! And you don’t have to wait to be out of high school.

The biggest single thing you can do is get exposure to airplanes that are flying and the pilots that are flying them.

Some ways you can do this: