Spotting at SFO

Hello, IFC! I’m heading out to San Francisco soon for my March break. I’ll be there for 10 days, and will definitely go spotting at least once during that time. I’d like to know what you guys think the best spots are for spotting at SFO.

For reference, people have told me that the West Field parking garage is a good spot, although there is some chance of getting kicked out by security. If I choose to go here I’ll probably have to try to email security beforehand. Also I’m not sure as of yet if a 300mm lens will be enough from this spot.

I’ve also been considering the new SkyDeck, or whatever its called. I was pretty excited at the prospect of not getting chased by security when they opened this one, but apparently the glass is pretty dirty and its difficult to get good photos out of it. Also it may or may not be crowded, but I haven’t been there so I have no experience.

I don’t know of any other spots, so if anyone has any ideas about either those two, or any ideas for other spots that work, that’d be great. Thanks for reading. :)

7 Likes

Another good spot is the Bayfront Park, which is designated for watching the airport. You can get good views of aircraft departing off of the 1’s and departing and arriving off the 28’s. The only downside is that it might be a little bit crowded, since it’s designated for spotting. I’m no expert though, since I’ve only been once. You should ask @ran.

2 Likes

300 is plenty for Westfield but didn’t SFO security say you weren’t allowed to be there anymore? I wouldn’t email them to tell them you’re there. Just like find a parking spot on the runway side of the garage and roll down your car window to spot, won’t draw too much attention. I’m not an SFO spotter so I can’t confirm this info but just my two cents.

1 Like