Reporting a position to ATC

Hi guys, I have been trying my best to look at YouTube and tutorials to see how on earth I can report my position correctly to ATC. I have been taking a wide birth from active ( manned ) towers because I feel like a total newbie when it comes to announcing positions. I have a picture I got from the net but can’t make sense of left and right in regards to runway positions.

1 Like

The positions are visible in the image. Determining whether you are on left or right downwind can be discerned by the direction of turns you will be making from one leg to the next. So if you are parallel to the runway, opposite runway heading, and will make one 90 degree left turn to enter base, you are on left downwind. If, instead, to go from downwind to final you will need to make two right-hand turns, you are on right downwind.

That said, you don’t need to report your position to active ATC in IF. Only on Unicom.

2 Likes

Here is a shot, would this be left base?

You’re turning right so that would be a right base.

1 Like

Thanks, I just need a simple guide for a simple mind lol. That makes perfect sense 👍🏼

I think the bigger question is why you would be wanting to report a position to an active ATC. When you are in range of Approach (approx 65nm straight distance) you should be requesting a GPS/ILS or visual approach to the airport, whilst if there’s no Approach but only Tower, you should be calling inbound for landing (NOT “inbound on the ILS/Visual” etc), and then thereafter following their instructions. There should not be a need to report your position in the majority of circumstances.

That’s sort of not in the pattern yet. All pattern legs are 90 degree increments from runway heading.