Real Pilot, New Player, Blown Away

Hey all, I’m a commercial pilot and flight instructor. Last week, I was forced to start quarantining after one of my students tested positive for covid, so I hopped on the app store and saw I had downloaded this game several years ago (think like 7 or 8+) and must not have been impressed at the time. With all the time in the world, though, I redownloaded it to see what it’s all about.

I have to say, I am completely blown away by what this sim is capable of. FSX is what got me into aviation as a kid, and even this app on my iPad can do plenty that that full desktop PC sim could never do. Apparently, SIDS/STARs, VNAV, and some of the amazing live cockpits are recent additions, but those are really what makes this game stand out, as well as ATC procedures (many of the commands again are far beyond what FSX was capable of)

I immediately opted for Global and started grinding. In 3 days I was able to make it to Grade 3 so I could play the expert server which is all I wanted to do, and spent all day yesterday around Manchester having the most fun I’ve ever had in an app. The satisfaction of flying a complete flight from startup to shutdown, with proper procedures, flight planning, and ATC the whole way, is something I never thought I would see in a mobile app.

Unfortunately, I paid the price at the end. I decided to hop from Manchester to Gran Canarias overnight (one of the routes specified in the ATC schedule, such a nice feature). I must not have paid attention to my STAR/VNAV planning, because when I woke up to the alarm I had set, I had descended to 10,000 over 100 NM from the airport. I was still at cruise speed so I woke up to 3 violations and I had lost my Grade 3 status just like that, kicked from the Expert Server. Since it’s based on my violations in the last 7 days, I won’t even have the option to regain it for another 4 days.