Question about multi rating

So just had a quick question for an instructor or just someone who knows about Australian licensing. So the way which I did my license and everyone else I know is by getting up to CPL in a single and then doing the multi rating or you just do up to your PPL in a single then do multi rating. I was just wondering if you could do your RPL and PPL in a multi of course a big consideration is the cost of running a multi but say that money wasn’t an issue can you legally do that.

1 Like

Hmmm I’m no expert in this but… maybe @SahyaQFFlyer @RileyBozina @Oli_H could help you out

Also, your post should be in #real-world-aviation

Edit: Google can do wonders try there

1 Like

Sorry mate I don’t really know either

Hey there Ethan,

This is a great question. Unfortunately, I do not know much about Australian, but I can tell you that in some parts of the world such as the US, we do have the ability to do Private in a multi-engine. It is possible but rare as the costs are generally much higher. Additionally, its also one of those things that people ask themselves, “I’m spending all of this money to do my initial training in a multi-engine. What if I don’t like flying after I’ve started my training?” That would be one of the big reasons why many people don’t do their multi-rating in their initial training.

That said, when and if you get around to commercial, it might be good to do the multi-rating first. Gt your Commercial Multi and then your Commercial Single. For some reason its easier, and that’s what I ultimately did. But if you can’t find anyone here specifically from Australia that would be knowledgeable in this area, I would recommend doing a few web searches to see what you could find. Maybe some Australia flight training forums or something other site that would maybe provide you a more clear answer to what you’re looking for.

All the best!
-Matt

4 Likes

Hey mate,