Question about flying

Hello I was wondering so what age can you start flying in the us and should you go to flight school first before college or what I don’t know I’m not an expert.

What are your long-term flying goals? You can start taking lessons at any age, but must be 16 to solo and 17 to get your private pilot certificate. That’s for airplanes. I believe gliders are a year earlier on both fronts.

2 Likes

Well I want to be a United Airlines pilot if not a American Airlines pilot.

1 Like

How far out is college for you?

Like 6 years

I’d say get a job, save up some money, and try to start flight lessons in high school. You’ll love it and it’ll keep you inspired and motivated for the next steps. You have the option of going to college to get an aviation degree; if the right school, this could cut your ATP minimums by 50 hours. Or you could go the military route.

There are many different paths you can take, so I’d take some time to research and review them. Talk to family friends that are pilots if you can, and join local aviation communities. Talking to people will open your eyes to people’s experiences and advice.

Here’s a good article to get you started:

4 Likes

Im already wanting to join the military or Air Force

That’s great! Do you want to attend a service academy?

1 Like

What’s that sorry I’m not really awake rn.

Air Force Academy, Naval Academy, etc.

This is the one So I can fly and kinda be like maverick

1 Like

Gotcha… you’re thinking of the Navy. Anyway, do some research and think it through with your family. Only you can decide what’s best for you. Good luck!

4 Likes

Thanks for being great help

1 Like

might have to frame this one

7 Likes

So two routes for your answer, legally when can you start flying? Anytime with an instructor. Solo at 16, license at 17 for your private pilots license.