Qantas B747 Celebration Part 1 @ YSSY - 300800ZOCT16

Server: Training Server 1

Region: Australia Area

Airport: YSSY

Time:
London 30 October 2016, 08:00:00 GMT UTC
Sydney 30 October 2016, 19:00:00 AEDT UTC+11 hours
Los Angeles 30 October 2016, 01:00:00 PDT UTC-7 hours
New York 30 October 2016, 04:00:00 EDT UTC-4 hours

Aircraft: B744 - Qantas or B742 - Any

NOTAM: B747 Celebration Flight Part 1.
Climb rate 1800ft. Climb speed 240kts.
Cruise level FL200. Cruise speed 320kts. TOD @ YORG descent rate 700ft to 10,000ft until clear of mountain range to 5000ft. Descent speed 240kts

image

In March 1979, Qantas operated its final Boeing 707 flight from Auckland to Sydney, and became the only airline in the world to have a fleet that consisted of Boeing 747s only. That same year Qantas introduced Business class—the first airline in the world to do so.

This event is part 1 of a 2 part event for our B747 Celebration. (Part 2 via this link). This event celebrates the beginning of the Kangaroo Route with a flight taking off from YSSY, flying around the Sydney region (overhead of YORG) before landing at Canberra - YSCB. Photo call around Fairburn Apron (Right off RWY 35) at YSCB on completion.

Find charts for Canberra & Sydney at the bottom of the page at IF-Charts

Event is open to all, please bring your B744 in Qantas Livery or any B742 to represent the era.

All Qantas Virtual Pilots please feel free to use your Pilot ID as your Callsign, the hours can be claimed for PIREP.

http://www.ifqantasvirtual.tk/

  • Jordy QVA0230
9 Likes

Not using IF-Charts ? );

I would come, I just don’t have live :)

Great event there!

Fixed my friend. Apologies…I posted this at 3am and it slipped my mind.

1 Like

No problem… thanks for the support!

1 Like

Does IF Charts cover London region yet? If so will add I. For part 2!

1 Like

Yes. Currently EGBB EGLC and EGLL are on there.

2 Likes

Will be there! Thanks for making this event

2 Likes

Heya Jords, great event mate. It’s a 50/50 for me I may or may not attend.

2 Likes

I think I could join since I won’t be that busy on that day.

2 Likes

I hope to join

2 Likes

Event begins at the top the hour! I’ll be there early so other can copy my flight plan.
Callsign FYA01

Looking forward to possibly attending!

1 Like

im joining call sign qantas 69. should be good…

1 Like

Another big turn out! Great work guys!

3 Likes

Great pictures there Eric!

Don’t forget we have the second part of the event later today at 2000 Zulu. Look forward to seeing you all there!

1 Like

Thanks mate. I love flying the 747 so much, I’ll be happy to go up again and join you for part 2 ;)

1 Like

i took off just before that massive line up i remember seeing it on the map haha huge… great pictures…

I didn’t see your post prior to take off @AUS_FLIGHT but I sure remember hearing your callsign via ATC 😂

1 Like

Haha yeah buddy LOL flying in style Qantas 69, Good day Qantas 69…