Problems while sleeping on long haul,

When on a long haul flight, and I am a sleep,
If I am flying over an airspace, such as London Centre,
What if London centre contacts me, but I am asleep unable to do anything,

Will I get a violation for not contacting London centre and checking in? Or is it fine for me to sleep for long haul flights, not needing to be constantly online,

If my grammar or anything does not make sense, please tell me, I am not good at English,

Sorry for the disturbance,

6 Likes

On the ATC interface, it will tell the controller if you are away or not, if you are indicated as “away,” there will be no penalty.

2 Likes

Hello, and Welcome to the forum.

You are fine to sleep on your long haul flights as the app shows you as “away” after you haven’t touched your device’s screen for 2 minutes.

2 Likes

How would I be indicated as away? Does it happen over some time, or do I have to activate it?

As Adam pointed out, you’ll be marked as “away” after you’ve gone two minutes without touching your screen

1 Like

Thank you for the help,

1 Like

On another note, if you are away, and enter an active airspace whilst flying, (you go to bed then 3 hours later you enter London airspace, you are flying through and will not be active for another 2-3 hours for example) and the ATC contacts you with the “you are in an active airspace…” they wouldn’t see a away dot for your aircraft because you aren’t already on their frequency so what happens in this scenario?

1 Like

They shouldn’t be doing that…

The controller can see your away status in the full flight information readout as well, which doesn’t require you to be on frequency.

2 Likes

Also, if you’re inactive and you run into someone, ATC will be instructed to assume that the conflict is unintentional, and not report you.

1 Like

Who shouldn’t be doing what?

1 Like

ATC shouldn’t be contacting you if you are inactive and passing through their airspace.