Pilot Question

Okay, so im a private pilot and im wondering if i could fly a family member self employed to a meeting. Now this family member pays for all my flight costs so it wouldnt be plausible to split the cost. Now, before everyone says something about im looking for serious answers. I do know what the FAR/AIM says just wants some clarification

1 Like

well yeah. except a few differences

Mm… @Jdichter or @Heavydriver should be able to answer that question for you. They’re instructors in that department.

People, leave the responses to the professionals, please. Speculation is pointless on an issue like this.

5 Likes

thanks Josh. I wasnt too sure thats why i asked.

As long as you don’t make any profit off the flight and you stay within all the restrictions of your ppl you should be able to fly them. They also can pay you for gas and aircraft rental they just can’t pay you for flying them.

3 Likes

Of course, aircraft ratings, etc. But for the most part yes.

That’s all I’ll say, let the pro’s give you the full answer and specifics :)

You should be fine exercising the privileges of your certificate; however, I know you said that you know what the FAR/AIM says, I would just encourage that you fully understand it. There are a few thin lines that may be seen in different ways depending on who you ask. When I did this, I always fronted my half of the money and had a family member transfer the funds to me. That way I always paid the flight out of “my pocket”. This eliminated any double guessing. And because you are not being paid to fly the person from point A to point B, and you are not being compensated, it is legal.

2 Likes

well yah. like i said. they pay for the ALL my flight training costs

thanks. I figured it was. People do interpret things different and just wanted a better picture and understanding