Physics in Infinite Flight

I was wondering like how do planes fly in Infinite Flight like do they fly using real life principles for exemple thanks to the airfoil, Bernouli law etc or is it just sample coding “if speed = X and user tilt his iPad go up” ?

3 Likes

Im sure its more comlplicated than that, im not a developer so ill let someone else explain.

1 Like

If its that, Im gonna start my own flight sim company!

jkjk

1 Like

I can’t speak for IF because I have no specific inside knowledge, but I did go through the entire process of coding a flight sim from the ground up (a lot of years ago and on the hardware of the day). So there is likely a fair degree of necessary overlap.

And that includes the 3D world database, the graphics system of how that gets displayed in your current view direction with proper visual perception (and “z buffering,” the order you draw objects, to get the best overlap possible), and all the physics for how you track the current aircraft physics state from moment to moment, which dictates how you move through that 3D world. And instrumentation to display the physics state as the pilot would see it. And then all the aircraft and scenery design tools. It’s crazy…definitely not a trivial exercise.

I don’t remember if I ever specifically thought about Bernoulli’s equation. But you end up using elements of various equations as rules in the algorithms, like square laws for the increase in drag etc.

I paid a lot of attention to the relation of lift to angle of attack; I was always obsessing about AoA.

You definitely have to mathematically completely describe variables of Newton’s laws of motion, and separately do it for linear as well and rotational motion:

linear: position, speed, acceleration, each in the x,y,z dimensions

rotationally: position (current angle of pitch, bank etc.), speed (how fast you pitch, bank etc.), acceleration (how fast each of the rotational angles change speed), around each of the x,y,z dimensions