Operational Procedures

Hi-I am a good pilot on IF but I’m not too familiar with operations so I have a few things i woukd like to say
Does it really matter if my strobe lights are on while taxiing?
I often misjudge what speed and altitude I should fly at in order to reach my destination-For example From LAX to San Diego, what speed should i go and what should my altitude be? I currently do 380Kts and 15,000FT-Is that wrong?
When filing a flight plan how long should my final approach be e.g what would be a good flight plan from KLAX TO KSAN. Any answers would be thouroughly appreciated. Thankyou!

Re lights - strobes should only be on whilst flying, or whilst crossing a runway. Turn them on whilst holding short and given clearance. Turn them off when exiting the runway after landing.
Landing lights can be used like taxi lights, so on whilst taxiing and take off and landing, but off whilst flying.

Heights and speeds vary per flight and aircraft.
Try looking for route info for the flight you desire.
I took a 737 out the other day for about a 120mile flight, and I took it up to 20k and cruised at 300kts mid flight.

Thanks A lot!

1 Like

I am similar to BBJMAX and have found this post mega helpful. Must remember not to fly planes on my iphone and stick to ipad as its difficult to manage on iphone, just sayin like!!!

From LAX to San Diego, what speed should i go and what should my altitude be? I currently do 380Kts and 15,000FT-Is that wrong?

It depends on what you need. Rule of thumb is (altitude/1000)*3+10 is the position you may need to commence descending in a Jet. Let’s say you take FL150, then you start to descend when 55 miles from the airport. If total flight distance is around 70, you only have 15 miles to reach FL150 after airborne. If you think it’s uncomfortable, pick up a lower cruising level.