Operating on 2 devices from the same account

Afternoon All.

After beginning a flight across the Atlantic yesterday from Manchester to Punta Cana, I decided to make my merry way down to the local pub to meet my parents for dinner. Being the true professional I am, I chose not to drink any alcohol, however the conversation did progress onto planes. Or, more specifically, the topic of the short takeoffs performed by turboprop aircraft such as the Dash 8 and C-130.

In a classic example of ‘pub discussion’, chat rounded onto the question of just how short a takeoff by one of these aircraft could be. There was only one thing for it: being a true professional, I always have a flight simulator with me. So, out came the S10, armed with Infinite Flight.

Having loaded up solo mode and picked Gibraltar as a suitable location, testing began with early signs suggesting the Dash 8 was likely to be the victor in the inaugural Short Takeoff Competition In a Pub.

Meal finished, it was time to go home to check on the other flight. But, to my temporary surprise and confusion, I was greeted by a shouting cat and an iPad graced with a warning message for me. Due to me using IF on another device under the same account, my flight had crashed. Or rather, the simulator had deliberately crashed my flight for me, without my permission. It was then that I realised what I had done, and a question popped into my head:

Why, when I pay £80 or so per year, does the app choose to crash my flight when I open a flight on solo on my other device?
I can’t for the life of me work out how closing the throttle to stall the aircraft, potentially causing violations, is a better idea than just closing the flight or - even better - just leaving it be.
So, community of IF Boffins, why does the app do this?

Cheers
Love you all.

5 Likes