Old features of Infinite Flight

I just started playing Infinite Flight consistently during the pandemic, and I am loving it! However, I actually bought the app in 2015 or 16, I can’t remember which one. However, remembering some old things about it, and looking at old videos there are some things that are no longer part of the simulator and I was wondering why?

• Water: Looking at some older IF videos on YouTube, it seems that there was better textured water. Now, we only have satellite scenery water, and while it looks okay, when did this get removed, and why?
  • Space shuttle: I remember this from years ago when I first bought the app. There was actually a space shuttle! And I believe, along with it, was a challenge to land the space shuttle. If that is incorrect, please let me know, because I am probably thinking of a different app. Why did they remove teh space shuttle, and the challenge to go with it?

Thanks everyone!

2 Likes

Exactly as you said. Satellite scenery. Before all the water looked the same. If you’d like to vote for the old water texture to come back, click here!

Nope, you’re correct! They removed it because it caused too many issues. The mission went away as well since there was no more space shuttle to fly on it. You can read about that here and if you want, vote for it here.

1 Like

👀 It caused issues? All I remember about the shuttle was having fun with it!

1 Like

Hey!

The old water was removed because only works on flat surfaces, when global came out developers modeled the entire planet! It also requires a new technique, and more work to get different colors in different regions and to get the correct elevation.

You can vote for the old water here:

I think the Space Shuttle was removed because this is a flight simulator, not an space simulator.

2 Likes

@EdCruz both of those make sense, thanks!
@Z-Tube I will consider voting for that, I personally like it :)
@nativetoalaska I wholeheartedly agree lol

2 Likes