Noob Questions

I’m new to the IF community and I’m training to get ready for the Expert Server but I have a few questions which I am not really sure about.

1. For SIDS/STARS, do you always need to have them in your flight plan? And if so, what if the ATC gives you a runway that you weren’t expecting, would you just change your SID or STAR to suit that runway?

2. “Correction” in ATC means you sent the wrong information, am I right? Like if you say “Req taxi to 18L” when you were meant to say “Req taxi to 18R” would you use “Correction…”?

3. When you’re doing pushback, does it matter what way your facing when you pushback, because ATC doesn’t specify what way to face? Or do you just face the general direction of the runway your taxing to?

4. What does “Misc Messages” and “Standby” in ATC mean?

5. Do you need permission to change radio frequencies, is this why there is a “Frequency change” message?

6. Where do I find altitude limits and speed limits for areas and airports? Or is it a set rule everywhere, if so please tell me them.

Sorry for asking so many questions hopefully I understand most of them by the time I get grade 3 :)

15 Likes

Welcome to the community!

To answer your first question, no, unless the ATIS states “SID STAR use REQUIRED”. If ATC gives you a runway you weren’t expecting, you can just change your SID/STAR, yes!

That is correct.

Usually you would face the direction of the runway you’re taxiing to. However, if ATC tells you to “expect runway XXX”, you would pushback to face that runway.

Misc Messages: Messages like Thank you & I’m Sorry can be found there.

Standby: If it is from the ATC, it means to wait for further instructions usually.

Yes, you do. A common mistake is that users always request frequency change when they want to switch to tower after being cleared to taxi by ground. This is false. When you are cleared to taxi by ground, it includes “contact tower when ready”.