My First Solo

Hey all!

It’s been a big day today. I turn 16, and am finally legally allowed to solo. After almost 70 hours of flight training, I’ve been waiting for this day since I started flying 4 years ago.

A Lucky Break

Before I take my first solo, I go up and do 3 patterns with my instructor in the aircraft. At the time, HPN was using runway 29 for patterns, while wind was 110@9. A direct tailwind. I told my instructor I wouldn’t be soloing with those winds, and we landed and exited the aircraft.

Before we landed, I asked the tower if they had plans to change runways. They gave no direct response, leaving me with a “stand by”.

With an hour left in the lesson slot, I dialed up the HPN ATIS number to learn they had just switched to runway 11 for patterns!

We quickly headed out, and did 3 more touch and goes before I dropped my instructor off at the ramp and was good to go.

As a solo pilot, I was not allowed to perform touch and goes. I was performing full stop & taxi back landings.

An Audience

I was lucky to have my parents and sibling spectating for the big flight! A generous ramp worker was kind enough to get them (and my instructor) a golf cart to drive them to the edge of the ramp, right next to runway 11.

They spectated my solo and grabbed many amazing photos.

On to the photos!

I don’t have a GoPro so was unable to get photos of me in the aircraft, but as mentioned above my family was taking hundreds of photos throughout the flight.

Waiting for the all clear from my instructor. This was the scariest part… waiting on the ramp before departing.

I spent the time grabbing a few photos.

I still hadn’t truly processed that there wasn’t anyone next to me!

Past the point of no return! I lift off of runway 11.

I didn’t get any photos of the first pattern. Here’s me about to touch down for the second landing.

After a greaser of a landing, here I am heading back to 11 on taxiway Kilo for my final pattern.