Multiple aircraft on runways

Hello,

I have noticed on the expert server that ATC allows multiple aircraft on the runway at one time (runway includes everything past the hold short line). I’m a student pilot so I know this would be a runway infringement in real life, but is it supposed to be in IF?

Thanks
-Lucas

2 Likes

Well if the airspace is busy, then yes. ATC try to get traffic flowing through as fast as possible to maintain efficiency.

If that’s the case, the spacing gets a bit tighter.

2 Likes

From what I know, it’s allowed in real life as long as they’re not rolling at the same time.

Also, somewhere in the IFATC manual, it does allow for us to line up multiple planes at a time.

10 Likes

In the US at least I’ve learned that lineup and wait is only used for if you’re on a runway and an aircraft is taking off from an intersecting runway. Thanks for the answer, though. It makes sense considering how ATC comms are a bit slower and less complicated than in real life.

1 Like

About planes past the hold short line, not everyone knows how to properly hold short, actually a lot of people don’t know how to do it properly, so this means if ATC gave a go around for every bad hold short it would result in way too many go arounds, and it’s not really fair to ghost people for having 1 inch of their nose on top of the HS line, so we have to deal with that.

4 Likes

Ah, makes sense. I suppose it’s a limitation of a lot of beginners playing IF.
I wonder if a grade 4 only server with voice comms would be a good idea… Probably lack of players would make it not possible but idk 🤷‍♂️

1 Like

I think the reason why there are no voice communications is because of IF’s diversity, and the potential for abuse. There are many people around the world who play IF, and not all of them speak English well enough to fluently converse with ATC.