Motion sickness!

Are there any rl pilots here that get motion sickness from time to time? Yesterday I was up in a small prop plane and it was windy with winds gusting to 27kts, and very rough turbulence. Combining all of these with very long lasting, wide turns… didn’t feel too great. Are there any techniques to deal with this?

7 Likes

I felt the same way when I started out my training! But to tell you the truth it’s all about how your mind perceives it. Once you know the plane is going to toss you around but you still end up safely getting back on the ground the motion sickness kind of goes out the window. If you like rolls coasters you should be fine. Long story short is about MINDSET

KOIIX

4 Likes

I am a real life pilot and am occasionally prone to motion sickness. On my first few lessons, I had to cut them short due to being sick.
Motion sickness can affect any one, no matter how experienced you are. That being said, your body and inner ear adapt to the motions and 99% of the time, motion sickness is something you “grow” out of.

As far as techniques, open a window and get air moving across your face. Also, find a fixed point off in the distance (like a mountain top, radio tower, building) and focus on it. Looking at the fixed object helps orient your brain to its surroundings.

3 Likes

During a flight lesson, I can get sick if we are bouncing around for like an hour. Other than that I have pretty robust guts.

1 Like

Same here, though I was still battling a right ear infection at the same time… so that probably didn’t help. Lol!

1 Like

I was in a small plane yesterday around kmkl and didnt so not me.

1 Like

I fly here around the Smokies in East TN so it get frequently rough around here.

Yes everyone gets motion sickness. Even us pilots. There’s been times were I’ve gotten motion sickness while I have been flying. It’s just a normal part of flying and just because we’re pilots doesn’t mean we’re not prone to it

3 Likes