Manual Landings

I’ve been playing IF regularly for about 6 months now, but still can’t perform a manual landing for the life of me. I’ve watched tutorials and know the inputs required, yet I still can’t hold my trajectory still. Anyone have any tips? Should my sensitivity settings be adjusted away from defaults?

other q’s for the community:
are you ‘good’ at manual landings, and are yours smoother than APPR?

how long have you been flying in IF before you attempted and/or mastered man. landings?

when a pilot performs an ILS approach, does that automatically mean autoland? Or that simply means a pilot just follows the glideslope and localizer–but does not specify how the ILS path is followed (with or w/o autopilot).

in the real world: do pilots generally request visual approaches even when ILS is available? what’s the benefit to a visual if you can only do visual once the airport is in sight?

is autoland generally used even in clear/calm weather?

1 Like

Just to answer your first question, make use of trim to stop the loss of altitude and downward pitch. If you need more stability, like myself. Try resting your arms/elbows next to your hips and torso or perhaps sit in a way in which your elbow rests on something. It should help you if that is a genuine issue that you have.

1 Like

Most importantly try hud first get the little circle to align to the runway, but before calibrate your device as it could make you plane go nose up or down!

Try solo mode first!

2 Likes

Adjusting the control sensitivity in settings to what you find easiest may help.

2 Likes

Hey there!

I never use APPR. Ever. I always hand fly my landings. Mine end up being much smoother than using APPR mode, most of the time.

Hand flying is quite simple. Just a couple things to remember are:

1). Always use minor corrections to roll or pitch

2). Use power to adjust on the glide slope path. Drastic changes to pitch almost always result in an unstable approach.