Make flying more Challenging

Hey Guys,

I’ve been playing IF since 2012 and I’ve come to a Point where flying isn’t as Challenging as it used to be.
Sometimes I try to spice up my flight with some low fuel planing or flying a Overweight Cargo plane.

Do you guys have any Idea what else I could do ?
What do you Guys do to make a Flight more interesting ?

5 Likes

Just a few things:

• Fly into more challenging airports like Kathmandu or Lukla or even some airports with smaller runways
  • Fly into airports that experience bad weather like strong winds or bad visibility
  • Fly with some more difficult planes for example the 717
  • Scenic GA flying!

These would be my top picks for things that could make your flying experience more interesting!

5 Likes

I would suggest you learn some “hidden” real-life features. Try VOR and DME approaches for example. This requires Chart knowledge, another thing that is crucial to make your experience more professional and challenging. Often Approach fixes in IF are only half of the truth of how the approach is in real life and you often need to fly a certain course between them instead of the straight line that IF creates.

2 Likes

Ok, heres your next flight…

Get into a Q400 in Austrian livery. Your route is Innsbruck to Lugano. You need to fly the appropriate departure SID, and at Lugano use the GPS / DME LOC approach to Rwy 01…

But ideally you’ll need the chart to fly the procedure turn correctly, and to read off the correct breakaway distance should you need to fly the visual segment to the opposite runway… 😊

1 Like

idea 1: pattern touch and goes, Sedona airport, Arizona (runway in the sky)

idea 2: appreciate the decoupling of the HUD’s AI with the velocity vector in virtual cockpit mode: