Localizer/ ILS

Hi, I am quite new to the game and have some questions about ILS. I have been practicing white out conditions in solo mode. When I was flying live it was low visibility. I was cleared to an altitude until established on localizer. In the HUD the diamond icon on the altitude never came up. I was very high thinking it may show up. I ended up diverting. I don’t know how to get established. Should I go and use NAV or anything? I would really appreciate assistance.

Thanks!

1 Like

To establish ILS:

1. Click on the map
  2. Click on your destination airport
  3. Click “RWYS”
  4. Select your arrival runway
  5. Select “NAV 1”
  6. Change your source in “NAV” from “GPS” to “NAV 1”

This should bring the diamond indicator onto the altitude bar. Do note that this will cause the autopilot, if it’s on and LNAV is selected, to switch from flying the FPL to flying the approach, which could cause some unwanted stalls and crashes.

3 Likes

Remember this:

Runways that has ILS frequencies will have a red cone leading to them on the map.

4 Likes

Hello!
If you are referring to how to establish yourself on the localizer using the approach mode or APPR, then this is the video tutorial for you!

Additionally you can take a look at the ILS section on the flying guide here. It’s written step by step.

Good luck!

You have to stay at 200kts or below and the appr is only able to „snap in“ if the glideslope and height of your AC relative to the airport is in the perfect spot. So always check, especially if there is no radar controller active that you use the right height. For most airports between 3000-4000 AAL

1 Like

I usually stay at 2000 altitude for that!

Here is how to use the appr mode
This might be a little confusing but you’ll get it

So, firstly some requirements you have to meet

• You must be under MLW, otherwise you are too heavy and APPR won’t turn on
  • You must be under 200KIATS