Lack of center use by ATC

Right now their are eight airports open with ATC on expert server but nobody on center. Thank you ATC for your free services but often I do not see anyone occupying a center. Why is that? It looks like no one wants to control center with eight airports being controlled currently.

5 Likes

IFATC are volunteers and not always free, they have lives as well! There are only a few officers trained to operate center making it rarer! Thanks for understanding.

Happy Flying :)
Cign

22 Likes

Keep in mind that only a certain number of controllers are allowed to open Center. Also, a vast majority of people in America or Asia are asleep. That’s why, but to be honest center just hasn’t been very popular.

18 Likes

I said this the other day it’s annoying. All that work the devs put into it for it to not be used :(

1 Like

Not to be used*

It’s personal preference, if I was an officer I would prefer approach just because you get to be more creative and it’s satisfying. Speaking from a traffic controlling perspective approach is far more important than center, it controls traffic better. Would you rather have center or Tower under stress from Traffic causing Go arounds? Just my two cents.

Cign :)

2 Likes

Im sure Center will be open more frequently as more IFATC are able to use and it and as more people get acclimatised to using it. It’s too new of a frequency right now IMO

3 Likes

At first, IFATC are volunteers, we won’t be there all the time. And then, only a few senior controllers can open Center because a center controller will get heavier traffic in their airspace.

4 Likes

Basically we don’t have enough people

There isn’t a whole lot of IFATC’s out there, then the percentage of the ones who can even touch radar controlling isn’t that big, and add to that that center is the most hardcore frequency out there and you get not that much people doing it. Oh, and don’t forget, some people prefer approach over center

4 Likes