Is it worth 20 purchases

Is it worth 20 purchases for the 737 bbj and the Sofia or not and what does the Sofia do with the telescope

2 Likes

I would say yeah! The SOFIA opens the telescope on 40,000FT and above.

5 Likes

It’s almost impossible for me because once at FL390 your altitude goes haywire.

1 Like

It’s better to buy Live+ instead of 20 purchases

9 Likes

Why didn’t you say so I just wasted 35 dollars

What do you mean the telescope opens, does this work on IF?

5 Likes

Yes, it works

1 Like

Yes I bought quite a few aircraft and regions but then live came out and no I have a year subscription for Live+ it’s a waste of money for me.

Climb to 30,000ft and cruise for a few minutes until you’ve regained speed and then continue your climb to 40,000ft. That’s what I do. It goes haywire because you’re losing speed and by the time you get to 40,000 you’re under 150knts. Trying cruising at 30,000 or 35,000ft. Lower your + VS accordingly as well if you notice your speed dropping.

5 Likes

I did it and I didn’t have any trouble getting to 40,000ft as long as you level off at some point over 20,000ft to gain more speed then you do make it

4 Likes

@Captain_DJ is the best qualified to discuss the Boeing 737 BBJ-1. He loves that aircraft.

Regarding the SOFIA, it is quite unique and has the telescope that opens at 40,000 ft. It has great performance and a unique flight model. All of that put together, I would say it’s worth it. If you are the type to simulate real world flights though, it’s not the same as flying a Air China Boeing 747-8 though. The most realistic thing you can do is circles in SoCal at 40,000 ft.

Those are the two sides and my opinion. It’s you decision which side to take

2 Likes

3 Likes

I would say it is. The 737BBJ is almost like a trophy to me, it kinda shows you’ve put your dedication towards IF.

2 Likes

Thanks well since I got it already I’m flying
#justgotityesterday

1 Like