Interview with John Goering (epaga)

Hey everyone, I interviewed John Goering a while ago but I never got around to posting it on the community, so here it is:

Today we asked John (@epaga, the legendary developer of IF-A and IF-I) some questions about him and his apps.

What inspired you to create IFA?
I saw there was an API (a way for other apps to connect to IF) and thought that was one of the coolest ideas ever - a mobile app offering mod-ability like a PC game! So, being a developer, I started keeping my eyes open for some little app I could do, purely for fun.
I realized I kept accidentally getting overspeed violations without noticing, so one afternoon I read how to connect to the API, figured out how to access the current speed, and then played a sound when you exceeded the speed. It worked! The “trick” was figuring out how to keep the app running in the background, which was simply to play a silent track - when an app is playing audio, iOS doesn’t shut it down.
That first “proof of concept” took me only a few hours. So I made a short recording of it and posted it to the forum (right here). There was such huge positive response to it I ended up making a full app out of it.

Which app do you prefer? IFA or IFI?
I’d probably say IF-A at this point since when I fly, it tends to be just a short flight before bed, so I don’t feel like setting up an extra device.
Do you see yourself making more of these 3rd party apps?
Very likely, yes. It’s a blast, the community is great and positive, and… (see next question)
Did you expect the amount of downloads that you got from your apps?
Not by a long shot. Not even close.
I did IF-A for my own fun. I thought maybe I’ll get a little bit of side cash. I did virtually no “market research” since I wasn’t taking it all that seriously.