InfiniteFlight.js - Node.js Client for IF Connect V1

InfiniteFlight.js

Note

A lot of this topic is me rambling on about techy stuff. If you’re not interested, scroll down 'till you the bolded part 🙂

Everybody loves their third-party apps. The platform created by the IF Developers to allow us third-party developers to interact with our favorite game simulator. I’ve now been on this community for three years, almost to the day, and since I’ve started sharing my programming work with the community (whether due to my presence or not) I’ve seen a huge uptake in people learning the language of computers - programming.

I’m primarily a web developer - think HTML, CSS, JavaScript and PHP - but the thing about the web is the only way it can currently interact with Infinite Flight is through the Live API. The Live API is amazing and a lot can be done with it, but it can’t interact with IF the same way the Connect API does. For those who don’t know, the Connect API works by sending packets of information and commands over your WiFi network.

Being a web developer, I’m quite confident with JavaScript. JS is the brains of any predominantly front-end (run in your browser) application. JavaScript is an amazing language, and luckily for us wanting to work with the Connect API in JS there is a flavor of it offered called Node.js. Node runs on a server or local computer instead of on the web, meaning it can work with the Infinite Flight Connect API.

–Skip to here if you don’t want me rambling on about tech stuff–

The Connect API has amazing possibilities as shown by current apps, but it can be pushed further. That’s why I created InfiniteFlight.js. IFJS is an extremely lightweight and simple Node.js Module that allows new Node Developers with experience in straight JavaScript to start working with the Connect API with ease.