how to make a soft landing?

hello community since I started playing IF I can not do a smooth landing

how to land softly? ๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

2 Likes

Check Swiss 001s video out

5 Likes

Landing takes quite a bit of practice. The first step is to make sure you have the right speed and flap settings for the aircraft and itโ€™s weight - this type of information can be found via google or some of the #tutorials. Then you can start working on your flaring: Flare Angles

2 Likes

Hey there! As said previously by a couple of members, it takes practice and youโ€™ll get there in the end. First you can do it the automatic way (APPR) or the Manual way. I recommend manually landing the plane. You really need to make the plane hover the runway a bit until you softly bring the speed down to land the plane. Now you can do it the Automatic Way where youโ€™re just going to deal with the VS while the planesโ€™ heading is straight on the runway. Just play a bit with the VS and the speed. Determination pays off so youโ€™ll get there after practice! There are also many tutorials that I recommend you to look!

Best regards,
Luke.

Often how I work on my landings is use the G force telemetry thing
In real life 2.1Gs is the maximum most aircraft landing gear can handle

1 Like

That translates to about -800fpm btw

1 Like

I found this very helpful.

1 Like

You should flare the aircraft at between 10-30 feet depending on the type of aircraft you are flying. To do that raise the nose slightly. This will slow your decent rate from say -700 fpm to around -220 or less which is what I am for.