How to design a logo for your VA or yourself

This topic was moderator-approved

Two weeks ago I have been asked by @Z-Tube to redesign the logo of his VA @elal-virtual. I have been using Adobe Illustrator for about 2-3 months now, even though not all the time, so I am somewhat experienced while there are most likely better designers out there ;D. Anyways, because I was asked and now finished the job, I wanted to share how I designed the logo of the virtual airline and how you could maybe design your own the next time you need to, especially all things done here can be replicated on mobile, too.

As I already said I was approached and asked to redesign the logo for El Al Virtual. At first, I was a bit unsure what to do, as I have never been asked before to do such a thing, and so I did this:

You see, whether or not you like it comes down to your own taste, but if you look at it objectively you will see that this logo doesn’t meet the criteria how a logo should look like. Normally, a logo should be

• simple
  • recognizable
  • scalable
  • relatable

to name a few. This logo may meet the second requirement, but that’s all! I have to admit that most of the things I write here are what I have learned in the past two weeks while learning more and more about logo design on YouTube.
So before actually designing your VA logo, you should think about what the VA or the real airline, your VA is based on, stands for. Of course, there is always the possibility to just add a “virtual” anywhere in the logo of the original airline and call it a day, but in my opinion, the VA should develop its own character while keeping some attributes of the real airline. An example for the logos I described above is El Al Virtual’s old logo: