How to Correctly Land at London City?

I recently bought the A318, and wanted to try it making a short route between EGHI and EGLC.
My target altitude above the airport would be of 3500ft.
After reaching that altitude, flying with full flaps at 165kts, I started my descent so as to intercept the glideslope.
My problem is that the A320 family has a landing speed of 120-140kts, and as I started slowing down using the spoilers with 0% thrust to reach 135kts, my V/S went from -1000ft/m to -2000ft/m all of a sudden, creating a rather uncontrollable descent.

Can someone tell me at which height should I intercept EGLC’s glideslope and how to slow down to 135kts without diving like the Junkers Ju 87 Stuka?

I know might seem stupid, but I’m fairly new with the A320 family.

1 Like

I said this in another thread, the A320 is better at loosing speed than descending. Those flaps will push you down like a hawk if you’re not careful, try and reduce it until on the localiser at least. Speeds can reduce by your “air brakes” Ill call them, put them on flight mode. Point you’re nose up if you must and you’ll lose speed and lose altitude hopefully.

Remember the more flaps the push downwards

Hope it helps!

It partially does, I had my spoilers in the flight position, but I was pointing the nose down because the runway threshold was approaching rather fast.

Just do some 360’s if you must, give patients to the nose up and let me tell you, you will lose altitude faster! Make sure your at a slow speed though.

Well, I spoke too fast, it does help raising your nose while using the spoilers to slow down. But I needed to use 15% of trim so as to avoid pushing my phone to my stomach.
But that demands lots of attention so as to trim the plane from 5% to 15% while avoiding the nose go up or down too much.

Don’t worry trim and me are good friends when it comes to not seeing the screen properly.

least you’ve solved the problem