How to butter?

Hi, i have been trying to butter since i started playing IF. Can anyone tell me how to butter? TY!

1 Like

Bread. Knife. Butter. Spread.

26 Likes

in Infinite flight

open the pilot’s tray table and follow declan’s instructions.

7 Likes

I’ve gotta say @Declan is absolutely correct, but practice is also a big part of it.

For more info consider watching the following video and read through the topic linked below.

3 Likes

thanks for the advice!

Hello, and welcome to Infinite Flight!
One of the most important factors in a smooth landing is speed. If you are going too fast, it’s incredibly hard to touch down smoothly. So GO SLOW!!

Secondly, your flare is important. Just before landing (about 3 seconds before touchdown), bring the nose of the aircraft up, so the back wheels touch first. This is very important as well!

By no means is this a full explanation of how to butter a landing, but I think these are the two most important pieces in the puzzle!
Good luck!

so i remain at 145-150knots and at 40 feet i nose up (Flare)

Yes! You can do it even a tiny bit slower than that, if you want!

ok thanks!

1 Like

Yes, no problem!

The following 4 screenshots are from Dan’s linked tutorial. Notice the FPV in each image.

FPV pointed at the end of the runway

FPV pointed at the runway aiming marks

FPV edging toward the horizon line as you round out (flare)

FPV just a touch below the horizon line guarantees “butter” 100% of the time, if achieved.

So the trick is to practice over and over again, being stable enough at about the right airspeed, and coercing the FPV just enough as shown (as a visual practice guide for smallest possible VS: hugging the horizon as your wheels touch)