How does one become a commercial pilot?

I know you will need a huge amount of answers from me in order for you to answer, however, I would like this topic to help others alike.

I live in London, 20 years of age and I didn’t finish college (UK). I currently work as an Events Operations Executive at a museum so a huge change for a passion.

I guess I’m seeking answers such as costs, different methods, requirements ect…

Thanks in advance. I’ll answer your questions in the comments section.

2 Likes

@Yuan_Tugo @Heavydriver

Please, guys. Let the tagged experts answer this question. Remember, this is Europe, not the U.S.

12 Likes

Then I’d suggest tagging guys from Europe, such as Yuan, @RAH and @Aernout

12 Likes

Yuan is European. Melvin’s been over there a lot as well. Get your eyes checked. Try dictionary-fying every pilot on here.

1 Like

Which is why I tagged Yuan. And thank you, Smithley

2 Likes

shouldn’t this topic be in #real-world-aviation ?

2 Likes

He is a Basic User. But I think it’s okay as he is asking an interesting question. This question might inspire us who wants to be a pilot in the future.

8 Likes

Some of the stuff will be similar to what happens here in the US. The best thing to do is check the Aviation governing authority website. Read about all the requirements involved in getting your commercial license. Go down to the local flight school, and start asking questions. Cost will always depend on how fast you learn, and skill set. In the US you could take your check ride right at 250 hours for a CPL but others may require more to be prepared. Ask questions around the area, and read everything that applies to what you want to do.

Hope that helps.

4 Likes