Ground and Tower ATC @ KLAX

Hello everyone, im pretty new and just got on not very long.i started live only about a week ago and ive been spending time on socal approach. Until i reached a certain standing to atc in bigger airports like KSAN and KNUC as either ground or atc.

I did read up some tips and guide here to grab some basics. Also flew on aircrafts to have better understanding on how atc guides me.

All these only on the atc playground.

So just today, infact mins before i decided to post this up. I was on KLAX as ground for the earlier part until there wasnt anyone on the tower anymore.

Having seen people managed both ground and tower in klax, i took it up as a challenge despite knowing im really new in this aspect.

I was able to work on it alittle at the start but traffic started pilling up on both sides. Im sure i kept it going for awhile before i couldnt take it anymore.

I have over 13 unanswered ground contacts and 9 unanswered tower contacts. I wasnt able to manage and i just gave up. I left both positions full of aircrafts on my frequencies.

Im sorry that i did what i did and controlled too poorly. I bit off more than i could chew. Nonetheless, it was an exprience, i never knew how some of you guys can manage 2 stations so well. I did a few landings in klax to learn how it was like.

Anyway im just sorry for being an inconvenience for that.

5 Likes

At least you learned something! Advanced controllers use this method called TAG

One person tower, one person ground! It eases the pressure and stress.

Not to mention you were on playground (peanut gallery)

Keep working!

2 Likes

@Furtive_masstwofourf

Thanks for the encouragement!! Im pretty sure now that i would control 1 station at a time. At least for the busier airfields.

1 Like

People say ground is easiest. So you might try that first :-)

1 Like

Yea, probably going to stick onto it for a while. This time more commitment on the busier airports