GLIDING - the beauty of the noiseless, "real" flying - a couple impressions...

It is possible to fly without motors, but not without knowledge and skill. - Wilbur Wright

As some of you may or may not know, I’m a student glider pilot at a local air sports club here in Germany.
Thought I’d share a couple images since I’ve never done this before, the forum is way too crowded with global topics and I believe many of you don’t know the beauty of gliding, the beauty of noiseless flying - or as we glider pilots call it - the real flying.

Please note that all of these pictures were taken by a smartphone camera and I am not a photography veteran.

Our two Grob Twin Astir’s during a misty morning…

Sunset shots of one of our “Twin’s”…

Some pictures I’ve taken during a sunset flight yesterday. Notice the beauty of southern german landscape and the mountain silhouettes in the background…

Pictures from a short flight quite a while ago…

And some pictures of a flight from farther up there…

Soaring with another glider from our club…

If you have any questions regarding gliding or the training process or myself or whatever - ask below.
I would love to answer them and get a bit into talking about gliding.

Happy soaring!

39 Likes

so how does a glider takeoff?
how does it stay in the air?
How long can one Fly?
if you can answer these that would be great, Thanks.

1 Like

google.com
google.com
google.com

16 Likes

Wow those pictures are flawless for a smartphone camera! 10/10 would glide again.

2 Likes

Either by being towed behind a motorized plane or by being launched into the air by a winch.
At our gliding club, we almost only use the winch.

In the quickest way I can put this… a glider stays in the air / climbs when the air in which it is flying is ascending faster than the plane itself is descending.

For as long as you don’t have to go to the toilet. When the conditions are right, a glider can easily stay in the air for 8 hours or longer.

5 Likes