From Ramp Agent to Flight Dispatcher

Good Day IFC,

As a lot of you know, I have been working as a ramp agent for the last 5 years holding multiple positions on the ramp and working for a contractor company as well as my current ramp agent role with AAG. With all the being said, recently I decided it was time for me to leave the ramp and make a change in the aviation industry. With all that being said, in October I applied to go to flight dispatcher school in Dallas, Texas and a few days ago, I learned I was accepted and have a class date of February 19th,2024. Im excited to start this new challenge in my aviation career.

I will be posting updates on this thread as time and class goes by. Leave your questions and comments below!

22 Likes

Congrats!!! Form a former Unifi (KSJC on behalf of Delta) ramper and aspiring commercial airline pilot and current college student :)!!!

Working with loadsheets/weight and balance and takeoff performance and all will get you so much closer to the technical aspects of flying! Good luck and have fun!

3 Likes

Actually decided to pursue this over becoming a commercial pilot. Working the ramp and doing weight and balance for all they planes, I liked working with the numbers and figuring things out.

1 Like

i’d love to hear about your progression! being a dispatcher has been on my list for a while and would love to see what you have to go through to get there!

1 Like

Very exciting stuff! Working on my CFI so getting closer and closer to getting to the professional industry. The excitement must be crazy! Congrats.

3 Likes

Nice! considering that, I might like this more than a pilot!

1 Like

Definetly should do it. It makes for a great career and the pay is not bad. Will be updating this thread.

2 Likes

Update Numero Uno:
Found myself a place to live for the next 6 weeks for school. Currently getting a head start on everything and reading about weather theory.

1 Like